Sign in to follow this  
tyrant666

Which Shark Do You Prefer? Part 7 Or Part 8

This came to me when I started playing a bit again and after all the freebies/new players came aboard this past October.

Obviously prior to Part 7's updates where his stats were...

+ Water Speed

+ Grip Strength

+ Sense

- Traps

- Shift

- Can't Run

I think it was a no contest. Part 8 had the better mobility, more traps, a better early game with destruction, etc and the Grip Strength stat never was touched by the devs to make it a more meaningful strength with a damage amplifier of some kind to make it worthwhile for Part 7 or Part 3.

However now...I almost feel like if Part 7 isn't better, he's definitely on par with Part 8.

Reasons why...

1. Weapon Strength - I'd argue this is more valued than destruction, as you're trading off a couple extra door swings (combat stance or not) for more melee damage and given how at least half the playerbase tries to troll or kill Jason. Direct combat makes him a better play than Part 8, even with the new weakness of Stun Resistance. Also destruction is made less relevant due to single handed weapons destroying doors easily with combat stance, so the less swings doesn't matter.

2. He now has the same mobility as Part 8. Both share the same water and shift. I'd argue both of these Jasons actually have the best overall map mobility in the game, even when compared to the + Shift Jasons and Part 2's + Morph.

3. Some might say more traps for Part 8 will always be the reason why Part 8 is better, but for me, traps were only really useful earlier in the game's lifecycle

3A. When most of the playerbase didn't yet have epic medic, thick skin, etc

3B. When the devs decided to remove trap stacking, making it easier for counselors to overwhelm objectives because Jason can't stack them easily anymore to nullify all their perks